Epistemology at the Central Division Meeting

Below the fold are the epistemology offerings I noticed for the Central. If I missed something, please note it in the comments. (I only attended to the main program, so will have missed anything in the group meetings.)


II-I. Colloquium: Epistemology
2:20-5:20 p.m.
2:20-3:20 p.m.
Chair: Joy E. Laine (Macalester College)
Speaker: Leo W. Iacono (University of Nebraska–Lincoln)
“Psychological Answers to Contextualist Cases”
Commentator: Jennifer Nagel (University of Toronto)
3:20-4:20 p.m.
Chair: Pieranna Garavaso (University of Minnesota–Morris)
Speaker: Ryan Byerly (Baylor University)
“Evidentialism, Attitudinalism, and a Causal-Construal Account of the Supports Relation”
Graduate Student Travel Stipend Recipient
Commentator: William D. Rowley (University of Rochester)
4:20-5:20 p.m.
Chair: Jonathan Matheson (University of North Florida)
Speaker: Michael J. Shaffer (St. Cloud State University)
“Pragmatic Encroachment Penalized”
Commentator: Benjamin J. Bayer (Loyola University of Chicago)


III-J. Colloquium: Probing Epistemic Possibility
9:00 a.m.-Noon
9:00-10:00 a.m.
Chair: Anastasia Panagopoulos (University of Minnesota)
Speaker: Kraig Martin (Baylor University)
“Epistemic Possibility and Closure of Inquiry”
Commentator: Andrew Moon (University of Missouri–Columbia)
10:00-11:00 a.m.
Chair: Timothy Fuller (Ohio State University)
Speaker: Ezra J. Cook (Northwestern University)
“Knowability and Singular Thought: De Re Knowledge and Semantic Ascent”
Graduate Student Travel Stipend Recipient
Commentator: Jeffrey Dunn (DePauw University)
11:00 a.m.-Noon
Chair: Lauren Woomer (Michigan State University)
Speaker: David Alexander (Iowa State University)
“Inferential Internalism and the Argument from Responsible Belief”
Commentator: Kelly M. Becker (University of New Mexico)

IV-K. Colloquium: Epistemology
1:30-4:30 p.m.
1:30-2:30 p.m.
Chair: Lory Lemke (University of Minnesota–Morris)
Speaker: Brian Mondy (University of Miami)
“Why Inquiry Has (At Least) Two Aims”
Graduate Student Travel Stipend Recipient
Commentator: Reza Lahroodi (University of Northern Iowa)
2:30-3:30 p.m.
Chair: Robert G. Brice (Loyola University–New Orleans)
Speaker: Ethan Mills (University of New Mexico)
“Is Skepticism Inevitable?”
Commentator: Jonathan Stoltz (University of St. Thomas)
3:30-4:30 p.m.
Chair: Justin P. McBrayer (Fort Lewis College)
Speaker: Yasha Rohwer (University of Missouri–Columbia)
“Lucky Understanding Without Knowledge”
Commentator: Jason Rogers (University of Rochester)


V-D. Memorial Symposium: The Philosophy of William P. Alston
9:00 a.m.-Noon
Chair: Alvin Plantinga (University of Notre Dame)
Speakers: Alvin I. Goldman (Rutgers University)
Peter van Inwagen (University of Notre Dame)
Marilyn McCord Adams (University of North Carolina–Chapel Hill)

V-J. Colloquium: Moral Epistemology
9:00 a.m.-Noon
9:00-10:00 a.m.
Chair: Benjamin Huff (Randolph-Macon College)
Speaker: Sarah A. Wright (University of Georgia)
“Partitioning Virtuously”
Commentator: Travis J. Rodgers (Florida State University)
10:00-11:00 a.m.
Chair: William Day (Le Moyne College)
Speaker: Elizabeth Tropman (Colorado State University)
“Non-Inferential Moral Knowledge”
Commentator: Deborah Mower (Youngstown State University)
11:00 a.m.-Noon
Chair: Marion Hourdequin (Colorado College)
Speaker: Victor Kumar (University of Arizona)
“Empathy and Moral Know-How”
Graduate Student Travel Stipend Recipient
Commentator: Remy Debes (University of Memphis)

VI-A. Invited Symposium: Ethics of Testimonial Knowledge
2:15-5:15 p.m.
Chair: Lisa Kennedy (Michigan State University)
Speaker: Jennifer Lackey (Northwestern University)
Commentator: Ben Almassi (College of Lake County)
Speaker: Deborah Tollefsen (University of Memphis)
Commentator: Sanford Goldberg (Northwestern University)

VI-J. Colloquium: Philosophy of Perception
2:15-5:15 p.m.
2:15-3:15 p.m.
Chair: David H. Sanford (Duke University)
Speaker: Richard Kenneth Atkins (Fordham University)
“Perceptual Normativity and Accuracy”
Commentator: Ali Hasan (University of Iowa)
3:15-4:15 p.m.
Chair: Keith Gunderson (University of Minnesota–Twin Cities)
Speaker: Kristjan Laasik (University of Miami)
“Towards Solving Alva Noë’s Problem of Perceptual Presence”
Commentator: Jared G. Bates (Hanover College)
4:15-5:15 p.m.
Chair: Samuel C. Wheeler, III (University of Connecticut)
Speaker: Jason P. Leddington (Bucknell University)
“What We Hear”
Commentator: Rocco J. Gennaro (Indiana State University)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *